Posted by: bernernewf | November 30, 2010

Introducing HÜSKER DÜ

After Loki died, I knew that I need to fill the void with another Berner.  Not to replace him, because nothing in this world can ever ever replace my Loki.  How my heart still aches.  Often times it is still a stab to the heart, when I think of him.  It has been 5 months now.  I still cry almost every day, just thinking about him, or something will remind me of him, or the dates for the plans I had for us roll around, such as obedience trials or draft tests that we were going to enter, or were entered in.  Or Christmas.  My daughter and I were shopping at Target the other day, and she said we need another Christmas sock, and it took me a second, and then that stab to the heart feeling was there immediatley.  It’s been hard.

Anyways, back to the introduction.  It came to be, that Loki’s breeder, Laurie, had a puppy that just turned 6 months, that for one reason or another, just was not working out for his family, so he was to be rehomed.  After seeing many pictures of him, and even a little video, I decided that I wanted to see how he would fit in my home.  I picked him up back in early July.  And he became mine.  So, yes, I have had him, about 5 months now.  He is a delightful puppy. 

His registered name is Trillium’s New Day Rising, and his call name is HÜSKER DÜ.  I came about these names, because the registered name had to have the word “new” in it.  His registered name was New Kid In Town, but that did not fit our situation, that evokes happiness, like just adding a new puppy or something.  This was not the case here.   So, I knew there was some sort of saying about new day rising, or something similar.  When I typed in “new day rising”, it came right up as a song and album by an old punk band called HÜSKER DÜ.  My husband is a big fan of HÜSKER DÜ, and started singing the song New Day Rising.  I thought that was a perfect registered name, and also loved HÜSKER DÜ for a call name (his call name was Hogan).  But, it gets better, HÜSKER DÜ means “Do you remember?” in Danish, and is a game of focus and concentration, perfect for an aspiring obedience dog.  But that’s a whole ‘nother story. 

So, HÜSKER has been a wonderful puppy.  He is helping to fill in some of the cracks of my broken heart. 

HÜSKER DÜ, 6 months old

Another HÜSKER, 6 months

HÜSKER enjoys boating and swimming!

 

I will put more posts up in the next few days.  I might start a new blog, if I do, the link will be on here.

Leave a Reply

Categories

