Posted by: bernernewf | March 31, 2009

52 Books in 52 Weeks—First Quarter

I started my 52 Books in 52 Weeks at Christmastime, because I got one of the Twilight Series books for Christmas. 

So, since then I have read:

Twilight, New Moon, Eclipse and Breaking Dawn…..all by Stephanie Meyers, all from the very popular Twilight series.   These were entertaining books….very easy to read. 

Following the Vampire theme, I read all 7 books based on the HBO True Blood series:  Dead Until Dark, Living Dead in Dallas, Dead to the World, Dead as a Doornail, Definitley Dead, and All Together Dead….all by Charlaine Harris.  

Deciding that I have not quite had enough Vampire, I am now reading the Anne Rice vampire books….so far of these I have read:  The Vampire Lestat, Queen of the Damned, and  the Body Thief, and Memnoch the Devil. 

I have also read these non-Vampire related books: 

The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery–I enjoyed this book, though I must say I have a list of words from it that I must look up in the dictionary still.

A Young Girl’s Crimes-Uncensored and Uncut  by David Rehak—-very short, bizarre book.  I could have done with a little censoring. 

An Exact Replica of a Figment of My Imagination  by Elizabeth McCracken

Revolutionary Road by Richard Yates.   This book has been turned into a current movie starring Leo Di Caprio and Kate Winslet.  I have not seen the movie.  This book reminded me a lot of John Updike’s Rabbit, Run.   Many similar themes.

Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier

The Heretics Daughter  by Kathleen Kent.  Ah, the things done in the name of religion.  Gotta love it! 

Justine by the Marquise De Sade……um, this was, um, interesting.  Easy to where the word “sadism” and “sadistic” originated from.

The Suicide Club by Robert Louis Stevenson

Tess of the D’ubervilles  by Thomas Hardy. 

Thunder from the Sea by Joan Hiatt Harlow.  Cute book featuring a Newfoundland.  My daughter read it, and wanted me to read it.

The Eternal Husband by Fyodor Dostoevsky

The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson

Netherland by Joseph O’Neill.  This was not my favorite book.  Though I do know a lot about Cricket now. 

And then I am always referencing these books:

Rally-O Style of Dog Obedience

Clicker Training for Obedience….though I do not use the clicker, this book is full of detailed information for training the competition obedience dog.

Leave a Reply

Categories

